• 46.2-300. Driving without license prohibited – Driving without a license in Virginia

Particularly here in Northern Virginia, as well as the general DC/Maryland/Virginia area, we know how necessary having a car/motor vehicle can be to get around here (the traffic jams on the freeways here are almost punishments in themselves…). But to be able to legally drive in Virginia, you must go through a process involving applying and then passing the necessary tests to be able to obtain a driver’s license so that you can be certified to drive. Part of the reason for this, of course, is so that the Commonwealth can trust you of not putting yourself or others on the road in harm’s way, barring any other inhibiting factors/distractions. Driving without a valid license is a crime, and applies to everyone who is determined to be behind the wheel and in operation of a motor vehicle.

 

If you were charged with violating § 46.2-300, the Commonwealth must prove that you were actually driving, and must have been on any road (what is referred to in the code as “highways”) in order to have you convicted. This charge could also be issued if the license is no longer valid and/or is expired at the time of the motor vehicle operation. If you are found guilty of those conditions, you could be looking at the potential penalties below.

 

Challenging Charges and their Penalties


If you have not officially obtained your valid drivers license before hitting the roads, the code states the penalty is a Class 2 misdemeanor, which imposes up to 6 months of jail time, and fines up to $1,000.


A second offense is a Class 1 misdemeanor, up to 12 months of jail time, and a $2,500 fine.


Every individual and their respective case that comes through our doors are different and present unique factors. Legal outcomes can vary depending on your own personal circumstances despite why you got charged with driving without a license, which is why it is wise to seek legal advice from an experienced attorney before proceeding with the charge. Traffic Attorney Joseph Yoon of Yoon Law Firm, PLLC, will give you the attention and focus that you need to form an innovative legal solution and bring you the best outcome possible.


At Yoon Law Firm, PLLC, located beside the Fairfax County Courthouse, we assist clients with driving without license charges in:

 

Fairfax City
Fairfax County
Town of Herndon
Town of Vienna
Alexandria City
Loudoun County
Stafford County
Fauquier County
Shenandoah County
Spotsylvania County
Hanover County
Henrico County
Richmond City
Chesterfield
Prince William County
Manassas City/Occoquan/Dumfries
Arlington County
City of Falls Church
United States District Court for the Eastern District Alexandria Division